Welcome to the ALW Blog

A Beginner’s Guide to the Seven Chakras

Learning about chakras, cultivating awareness around them and adding in a harmonizing ritual can shift you into a more balanced state that supports your overall health and wellness.

Chakra refers to the Sanskrit word that literally translates to wheel or disk. In the ancient traditions of yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to the seven main wheels of energy throughout the body that correspond to nerve bundles and major organs.

Chakras are considered to align from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head and radiate outward. The chakras are in constant motion, and to maintain a balance of mind, body and soul these seven energy centers must stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy flows are restricted, and health issues can arise.

The Seven Chakras


Root Chakra: The Muladhara is the first chakra. It is one of stability, security, and your basic needs. Visualize the earth and roots going down into it. The root chakra encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. When this chakra is open, you feel safe, grounded and fearless. The root chakra is represented by the color red. Wearing red can support this chakra.

Affirmation: May I be grounded, stable and connected.

Sacral Chakra: The Svadhisthana is the second chakra. It is your creativity and sexual center. The sacral chakra involves emotions, relationships  and one’s sexuality. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel. Orange is the color of the sacral chakra. When this chakra is open you feel emotionally stable and balanced sexually.

Affirmation:  May I nurture a supportive relationship with myself and fully honor my emotions and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra: The Manipura is the third chakra means lustrous gem. Yellow symbolizes the third chakra. The sacral chakra involves personal power, self-esteem and willfulness. It is the area from the navel to the breastbone. This houses your source of personal power. When this chakra is open, you feel motivated, empowered and confident.

Affirmation:  May I honor myself, my needs, my desires and my ability to choose.

Heart Chakra: The Anahata is the fourth chakra. It is represented by the color green. It serves to unite the lower chakras and the upper chakras. It is located in the center of the chest, the heart. The heart chakra is your source of love, trust, acceptance and connection. When this chakra is balanced unconditional love will be expressed to self and others.

Affirmation: May I be at home in my heart to hold forgiveness, acceptance and unconditional love.

Throat Chakra: The Vishuddha chakra is the fifth chakra, located in the area of the throat. It is represented by the color blue. This is your source of verbal expression and the ability to speak your highest truth. The fifth chakra includes the neck, thyroid, and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue. When the throat chakra is balanced, you have clear thought, self-expression and communication with others.

Affirmation: May I express myself with clarity and ease.

Third Eye Chakra: The Ajna chakra is the sixth chakra and is located in between the eyebrows. It is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is your center of intuition. It is represented by the color deep indigo. When this chakra is balanced, you have a strong intuition, deep spiritual awareness, imagination and intellect.

Affirmation: May I trust the Knowing within.

Crown Chakra: The Sahaswara chakra is the 7th chakra, also known as the thousand petal lotus chakra. It is represented by the color white or violet. This is the chakra of enlightenment, pure consciousness and spiritual connection to the divine. It is located at the crown of the head. When this chakra is balanced, you have a highly developed level of emotional awareness and sense of bliss.

Affirmation: May I embrace my oneness with the Divine.

Balancing Chakras leads to harmony of mind, body and soul.

Awareness is the first step to bringing your chakras back in balance. Your energetic body, like your physical body, is in constant flux between balance and imbalance. Self-awareness will help you detect imbalances, and make supportive changes. This energy work is a daily practice, a journey. Not a destination. Tuning into your mind-body on a daily basis is the key to keeping your chakras balanced and in flow. Learn 8 practices to harmonize your chakras.

Understanding and supporting your chakras is important for cultivating balance in your life.

Consider a daily visualization before you wake up in the morning, during a meditation practice, or even sitting in your car at a red light. Find small pockets of time to connect to your energic framework. Incorporate crystals, affirmations and/or the color as it relates to the chakra you would like to harmonize. Develop awareness around your spiritual, energetic self. It is a key to balancing mind + body + soul for optimal health. You deserve to feel your best.

As an integrative health coach, I help busy women like you move beyond limiting beliefs, self-sabotaging behaviors and bad habits to create a healthy, balanced, aligned life that allows you to show up each day feeling your best!

Schedule a free 30-minute complimentary discovery call

Ashley Logan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *